Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Events

Is There Ever A Tiki Event in Kansas City?

Pages: 1 10 replies

I can't get away from my work much, so going far and wide to frolic with you other tiki fun folks is pretty much improbable (ie, The Hukilau and Tiki Crawl), so I am wondering if there is ever anything happening here in the landlocked prairie?? I want to get to know much more about tiki and tiki addicts!!

Thank you for playing,
LavaLounger

M

plan one and people will come.

My friends and I had a big Tiki party that also included a homemade Tiki bar. That was last year! Perhaps I'll post some photos of it for proof. I got everyone addicted to Tiki after I met Sven Kirsten himself in LA. Anyway, I'll keep you posted if we have more parties.

Thanks so much Stellabelle! Since I'm a newbie at this and I've never been to any kind of a tiki event, or even a luau in my 55 years, I'd sure like to see how it all works before I jump into the firepit and try to organize anything myself. Besides, I"m finding that since following TC for awhile now that my choice of decor isn't really considered "tiki"....it's more like "tacky", so I don't feel confident enough to host anything other than for my family. They cut me some slack for being slightly nuts.

I'm sort of amazed how having my 16th birthday dinner at Trader Vic's in St. Louis in 1966 made such an impression that I built a tiki bar in my basement 40 years later just to revive the relaxing untroubled dreamy atmosphere. (wasn't allowed to drink that night but they did bring me a nifty "shirley temple" with a gardenia float.)

Ahhhhh, the 60's. BAH ha ha ha ha!!
LavaLounger

If "the great plains of Kansas" is Wichita, then we might be in business. I'm here in Wichita and would be open to discussion about getting a Tiki event going. Isn't there someone else here called "Tikijackalope?"

S

Silverline is from KC as well.