Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Will Vinton Leaves Studio

Pages: 1 6 replies

Just last night TikiMaxton was explaining to me how Will Vinton Studios had shrunk from 400 employees to 40. Today, the Portland newspaper reports that Vinton himself has left the company. Kinda sad.

T

That is sad. I'm a big fan of dimensional animation and think the PJ's was one of the best shows during it's brief run. I'd love to get those episodes on DVD - anyone know if they will ever be available?

Will's departure was long in the making. The studio will likely NOT be doing much (if any) dimensional animation again - it's too expensive and time consuming. The bean counters believe in computer animation as the key to the studio's survival, so clay and foam are out...

Sorry to hear that.

I met Vinton at some industry event back in 1980 or '81. I was an animator at the time, working with the now gone Filmation Associates. I never did claymation, being mostly a cartoonist, but really appreciated his talent.

Soon after, I left the animation biz to go into special effects work. Never have gone back to the cartoon stuff. Life goes on. I wish him luck in whatever he pursues next.

Carpe diem...

Squaker, funny - I went the opposite direction, from fx (Boss, Dreamquest) to animation (PDI, Pixar). Small world. Will is indeed a nice guy, but probably something of a dinosaur in the biz. I think he'll do just fine, though. I should give him a call...

S

Interesting...