Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Gallery

My first Tiki from Yorkshire England

Pages: 1 44 replies

This is my first attempt at carving my own Tiki, it took me over 4 weeks using only chisels, the wood used is pine.

It stands around 4-5ft and will guard the entrance to my forth coming Tiki bar/Surf bar to be built in my shed.

I look forward to your comments.

I am already planning my next design and can't wait to get started.

All the best Tiki Steve!

M

First?

Welcome to TC Steve. Thats an awesome first carve my friend.

Tiki Bar should be interesting as well.

Thanks for sharing and welcome again.

Mahalo

McTiki

M

Welcome aboard and that's a great first carving,well planned out, good carving,burned nicely,love the grain. Good job, dude.

That's terrific. If you have step by step photos you should open a thread on the carving page. Then all the carvers will write you lots of messages. I did my first wooden tiki last year and it was fun to read the comments. Did you use a blow tourch to darken the deep areas? Wendy

Cheers guys!

I've added further photos of my work in progress on the Tiki carving post!

!

lovely!

That's your FIRST attempt?
Dude, that's REALLY good!
Well done!

Where in Yorkshire are you Steve?

I'm down in South Yorkshire - Sheffield to be exact...

Cheers,

Joe.

Z

That is brilliant...especialy for a first time!
~Zero

Just finished my latest carving!

I found a very dry Sycamore stump and decided to carve an Easter Island head.

Photos to be added shortly as it is now finished with mahoganny stain and wax finish.

DUM DUM!

Z

brilliant!

My second Tiki finished with Mahogany stain & waxed.

My wood carvings so far!

Z

That shade of stain is perfect. Nicely done!
~Zero

they both look awesome! very impressive for your first carvings :)