Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Tiki Ano Mugsville: "I made it out of clay."

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 337 replies

T

Wanted to show you some of my newest work. As a new artist, I'm playing around w/ different forms, glazes, and technique- thanks to all the advice from those here on TC (and in person)- Wendy, Tiki Tony, & Johnnie Velour have all been super helpful in talking shop at Don's. Look forward to hearing any/all feedback. I have a few other posts w/ photos that I'll add into this thread. I'll be starting work on my piece for the art swap next week, too: a Narwhal of the South Pacific mug.

I call the first piece the "Fourward Thinking" Bowl: each post has a different "Post-Tiki" expression. It's a Lt. Shino glaze in the exterior, the interior of the bowl is a Dark Shino, which has a matte finish. You can see the beginning building of this piece at:

http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=44206&forum=18&8

I had some extra cylinders, so made them into "Mini Moai." From the right angle it looks like they're buried into the table.

More to come!

[ Edited by: TikiAno 2014-06-15 18:10 ]

[ Edited by: TikiAno 2014-06-18 22:38 ]

[ Edited by: TikiAno 2014-06-22 22:05 ]

[ Edited by: TikiAno 2014-07-09 21:56 ]

[ Edited by: TikiAno 2014-07-21 20:57 ]

[ Edited by: TikiAno 2014-08-26 11:31 ]

[ Edited by: TikiAno 2014-08-26 11:32 ]

TikiAno, those turned out great ~ an interesting modern/primative blend. And that Shino glaze is beautiful

You are off to a great start. The power is in your hands to create whatever you want. It's fun isn't it? Wendy

T