Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Fog Cutter

Pages: 1 22 replies

I am very new to tiki drinks, but definitely not new to cocktails in general.

Last weekend I bought Beachbum Berry's books and decided to make some classic tiki drinks to begin exploring an new area of cocktails that I haven't previously explored.

I made his 100 dollar mai tai and fell in love. I literally heard angels singing and have found one of my favorite new drinks.

But, I also made a fog cutter (the original WWII trader vic's recipe) and did not like it. I thought it was way too tart. I followed the recipe to the T and measured everything out. I did make my own orgeat syrup from a recipe in imbibe magazine, but I doubt that would make too much of a difference at .5 ounces and figured it would help rather than hurt the drink.

After the first drink, I switched the amounts of orange juice (2 oz) vs. lemon juice (1 oz). That made it a lot less tart, but it was still pretty one note and boring.

Has anyone experienced this? Any suggestions? Should I try again? Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Welcome to TC, blueeyedtiki! Good first posting. Make sure you head over to the "Official Introductions/Introduction" thread and introduce yourself.
http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=6&forum=1&hilite=new introduction

Good questions about tartness in cocktails, I can relate to your experiences. I noted, long ago, that there can be great variance in tartness of citrus juices. Sometimes I throw out batches of limes or lemons because they are just not working well in my drinks. But, on a side note, also make sure you don't mistakenly use Rose's Sweetened Lime Juice because that is not really lime juice.