Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Music

Martin Denny Chord Charts (Exotica, Quiet Village, and more!)

Pages: 1 14 replies

W

I'm a musician with an extensive Martin Denny record collection. I recently started transcribing the music to the songs (just chords, but you can get the melody by hear for most of his songs easily). You'll find a variety of songs that he recorded on here, including both covers and his original pieces. As I transcribe more, I'll post them on this thread. Here are a few to start.

Track Names (for the benefit of people potentially searching for them): "Bali Ha'i","Beautiful Kahana","Black Orchid","Clair De Lune","Cockeyed Mayor of Kaunakakai","Exotica","Forbidden Island","Harbor Light's","The Hawaiian Wedding Song (Ke Kali Nei Au)","Lei Aloha Lei Makame","Manila","The Moon of Manakoora","Ol' Man River","On the Beach at Waikiki","Quiet Village","Rain","Star Dust","The Volga Boatmen","Stone God","Ah Me Furi","Burma Train","Return to Paradise","Na Lei O Hawai'i / Song of the Islands","Ebb Tide"

UPDATE ONE:
"Stone God" , "Ah Me Furi"

UPDATE TWO:
"Burma Train" , "Return to Paradise" , "Na Lei O Hawai'i / Song of the Islands" , "Ebb Tide"

Update THREE:
"Jungle Drums","Sophisticated Savage","Latin Village"

[ Edited by: wleverett 2015-07-05 20:57 ]
[ Edited by: 2015-07-24 14:09 ]
[ Edited by: wleverett 2015-07-24 14:10 ]
[ Edited by: 2015-09-20 13:22 ]

[ Edited by: wleverett 2015-09-20 13:24 ]

[ Edited by: wleverett 2016-01-03 19:47 ]

[ Edited by: wleverett 2016-01-15 16:17 ]

W

Those with a good ear should be able to pick out the melody by listening to the songs. Use the chords as reference. Those without a good ear might just be on their own. My apologies for not including sheet music.

[ Edited by: wleverett 2015-07-05 21:00 ]