Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

T-shirt under an Aloha shirt?

Pages: 1 20 replies

I couldn't find where this had been addressed in this exalted forum in the past, but the question has come up here in the monkey-bin:

“Should an Aloha/Hawaiian/Tiki shirt be worn with a white t-shirt underneath?”

What say the experts?

On 2019-12-14 12:11, coldwarspacemonkey wrote:
I couldn't find where this had been addressed in this exalted forum in the past, but the question has come up here in the monkey-bin:

“Should an Aloha/Hawaiian/Tiki shirt be worn with a white t-shirt underneath?”

What say the experts?

I'm no expert, but I personally wouldn't wear a white t-shirt underneath. If anything I'd probably wear something like navy or black that ideally complimented the colors in the Aloha shirt.

Then again, the only time I wear white t-shirts is when I have a white buttondown on.

I wasn't raised wearing undershirts though I know some were. Some guys like to wear an undershirt under a light colored shirt, I guess that could extend to Aloha shirts. Sometimes I'll wear a plain coordinating color tshirt underneath if I want a little extra warmth.

OOHHHH....I’d actually really love to see what people say about this one.

So, I will have to confess that there are many times where I will wear a T-Shirt under my Aloha Shirt. But, I will always wear a tiki T-Shirt that matches the colors of the shirt. For instance I have a Don The Beachcomber shirt, which is black, but, has logo and words in tan across the front....and I will wear the tan and white Aloha shirt on top of it...usually unbuttoned.