Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Starting my tiki bar

Pages: 1 33 replies

O

I've recently become interested in tiki. I'm learning that what I've done doesn't adhere strictly to pure tiki - I'm still learning. But I'm not done and I will improve.Bar Lounge

Looks like a relaxing place to hang out!

T

Great start there Otterdog! Turn on the Les Baxter, make yourself a Mai Tai and relax! Looks like a nice space too.

[ Edited by TIKIGIKI on 2023-01-17 14:02:48 ]

Thanks, Maddog.

Thanks, TikiGiki! I'll do just that!

T

Question: does it ever rain there where you are?

Yes. Not much, though, since it's a desert. But we've had a surprisingly lot of rain (for here) this winter.

If you're asking out of concern for what the rain might do to the bar, you're right. It doesn't rain a lot here, but the rain that we do get can't be good for the particle-board plywood that the bar is made from. i'm not sure how the heat of the summer will affect it, either. But we'll only be here for 18 more months. So if the bar doesn't survive past that, it's ok. I'll build a new one wherever we land next. Have a great day.

No, it's just that I have never lived in Abu Dhabi for any length of time and wondered if it ever actually rained there. I can see you have sails but I assumed they would be more for the intense sun. I agree that particle board and water do NOT mix at all well but unless the bar is standing in a puddle for a while it shouldn't suffer too much damage in a shower. Water gets in around the edges, not the flat surfaces. Give it some short legs, maybe made from cut off plastic pipe sections to raise it above the dampness of the floor.

Once bitten by the Tiki bug, it's permanent I'm afraid!

Welcome Otterdog! You've now entered the deep and twisty rabbit hole known as tiki. I'd warn you to turn back before it's too late, but we already know that it's too late!