Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Tiki Resources

Pages: 1 8 replies

I am new to Tiki Central. I got into Tiki over the pandemic and am looking to build a home bar. I am looking for a resource that would list suppliers of Tiki building materials (matting, bamboo, tapa cloth) lighting (glass float lights, puffer fish, etc), tiki decor (tiki masks, tiki figures, spears, clubs, etc.), nautical decor, etc. Ideally that list would have customer feedback that would speak to quality and service, etc.

Now that Oceanic Arts is closed there does not seem to be a single source for these items. Is the there a resource like this on Tiki Central or elsewhere? The marketplace section seems to be more of for sale resource.

Thanks for your help

T

I've found a few nice items at TikiMaster, but they are not cheap!

T

I really think that the people here who have built their own Tiki Bars did not go to any single source for everything. "Tiki Ikea"??? You build your bar by getting components from various sources, and imagining what you can do with/make out of perhaps totally unrelated materials. Quite often "junk" can be turned into Tiki, with a little imagination. Buying specific items from a shop/gallery will set you back a lot of money. Charity shops/markets can often provide a lot of suitable things at much better price. Look closely at the pictures of home Tiki Bars here and you will see how an overall atmosphere can be built up piece by piece. Look for old ropes, fishing nets, marine jetsam etc. Fake plants at sales, baskets, cast-off South Pacific souvenirs. Cane/bamboo place mats are a real find. They are everywhere in charity shops now but can be used to make so many decorative items.

Just don't aim for "instant" Tiki Bar all at once. Make it your personal journey, adding stuff as you make/find it. Remember, a Tiki Bar is never finished.