Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

attn detroit area tiki-philes!

Pages: 1 11 replies

aloha!

i met some of you at exotica 2003 - i'm a journalist from detroit, working on a cover story on the "cult of tiki" and am looking for some locals to interview and photograph...especially those with custom made tiki bars and creations in their homes!

if you're interested, please email me at [email protected]

thanks you!!

M

Hey sparklydevil,

I lived in Detroit for 5 years and moved to Southern California fairly recently. As far as I ever knew, Detroit is comletely devoid of tiki or anyone who knows anything about it. Although CPOP Gallery on Woodward could be the one source for a small level of understanding tiki culture. You might try talking to them for sources.

I assume by your email that you work for the MetroTimes. In my opinion that publication was one of the best local mags anywhere in the country and one of the few things that I actually miss about Detroit (no offense). Nothing in SoCal compares to MetroTimes for cutting edge cool information. Good luck and keep up the great work!

ModMana :drink:

thanks modmana! actually, i've got a golden trump up my sleeve - inside access to the famed chin tiki! and, where detroit lacks a truly great tiki bar, we have a number of unique tiki fans who've constructed beautiful tiki creations in their own homes.

thanks for the compliments on the paper - you can always stay up to date with us from afar via http://www.metrotimes.com :wink:

Hey Sparkly!

I'm assuming you've already contacted Freddy Fortune (now of the Fourgone Conclusions)? He's got a giant Witco, possibly from the Chin Tiki (I think) and a killer-diller bar, etc. Email me if you need his contact info. Great, fun guy. He was at the closing of the Kahiki in Columbus with me a few years back.

F

M

Modmana,