Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

I'm a newbie with a few questions

Pages: 1 7 replies

S
skaz posted on Sat, Mar 6, 2004 10:01 AM

Hi,

I'm totally new to collecting and had just a couple of questions to ask before buying a book on the hobby.

1. What does an R71 etc...mean at the bottom of a mug? Is this a reissue?

2. How can you determine if a mug is older (pre-1970ish) as opposed to a newer mug?

3. Are Orchids of Hawaii mugs good to collect? What do you recommend that's affordable (until I learn more) and on the older side (age)?

Thanks a bunch.

Skaz

On 2004-03-06 10:01, skaz wrote:
Hi,

I'm totally new to collecting and had just a couple of questions to ask before buying a book on the hobby.

1. What does an R71 etc...mean at the bottom of a mug? Is this a reissue?

2. How can you determine if a mug is older (pre-1970ish) as opposed to a newer mug?

3. Are Orchids of Hawaii mugs good to collect? What do you recommend that's affordable (until I learn more) and on the older side (age)?

Thanks a bunch.

Skaz

R-71 is the number of an Orchids of Hawaii mug. Each different slye mug has a R- number. Some of the earlier Orchids mug don't have the R engraved in them, they use to have a sticker with an R on it then they would fill in the number. The numbers go up into a hundred somewhere, but not all of their products where tiki related.

There are many different ways to figure if a mug is old or not. I suggest buying Dukes book "Tiki Quest". This will explain a lot about mugs.

I personally like Orchids and I think they are all older. Most of them are easy to find so people don't talk of them as much as some of the other brands. You should just collect what you like.