Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

My first attempt - constructive criticism wanted

Pages: 1 24 replies

T

First of all...I am a forum newbie. Second...I did not come to TC with thoughts of carving.
Third...I am totally inspired by the TC vets and more so by the first attempters that proudly displayed their first here on the forum.

So I decided to give it a try. I am decorating the interior of my VW camper with a tiki theme. Here is my personal contribution to accompany the carvings I have purchased. Let me know what you think cause I really enjoyed making this. Thanks

[ Edited by: Tikibus on 2004-09-08 16:43 ]

T

if that's a first, you need to keep going! that is great looking for a first.

TC

nice! got any pics of yr van's interior?

Man, you kick ass if that's your first attempt. Great work. I'd love to see some pics of the bus.

R

WOW, I wish my first turned out that good. How large is it? Wheres it going on the bus? What year is the bus? Please show us more.

Man, if thats your first attempt, Im truly inspired. Excellent job. Im very impressed.
Gotta see the pics of the bus now.

I know I will be trying some carving for certain.

M

I love it! What year/model is your VW? I had a '76 lime green automatic popup camper for a few years, I'd love to replace it with simular somedayand Tiki it up.

T

Thanks for the responses. It means alot. The tiki is a tad smaller than a foot ball. The peice of wood was obtained from an old shop project that was never completed. It was already in that oval shape. The face design was something that I just sketched on the wood (any resemblence to other artist's designs is purely unitentional). I also did not use a single chisel, it was completely done with a dremel tool and some different bits. Oh yeah a little elbow grease in the sanding process.