Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Polynesian Resort Tiki Mug - Insight?

Pages: 1 20 replies

TM

I saw this mug posted on ebay and was wondering if it is still available (manufactured) for purchase or is of the vintage variety. I haven't seen it in my travels (possibly being in CA doesn't help) and I think it's prety cool. I would love to add one to my collection. Any info would be appreciated....Thanks

Hey Matt, I am no expert, but I was just at the Polynesian resort with my wife earlier this year. I picked up a Polynesian resort signiture mug, but it is the old clear glass 2 faced mug everyone has. I think I am right in saying that the one here is vintage from long ago. They also did sell the mugs from the Tiki Farm 4 pak, and the ceramic Tiki Farm coasters, but I did not see this mug at all. There was alot of Oceanic Arts weapons, masks, and paddels on the walls though. They have a restaurant upstairs with many huge tikis representing many islands in Polynesia, but we didn't get a chance to eat there.
Aaron

Yep, that's an old one, not made anymore. It could be called the "original" Pele mug, cause that's where the design hails from. But it is so far off, not very well conceived, in my opinion.
Still, for the collector of rare odd mugs, this is a prize.

TM

Thanks guys, I'll now make it my mission in life to obtain one!

HL

Hmmm... I don't think it's super-old, judging by the logo on the back. The really old stuff is marked "Polynesian Village." I wish I could remember when the name changed -- maybe the mid-'80s or early '90s.

But still, it's the first time I've even seen that guy!

F

I heard through the grapevine that these mugs are back now, and they're using (selling?) them at the WDW Polynesian Resort in the restaurant and bars.