Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

Super BBQ island in progress

Pages: 1 24 replies

D

Some pics of the BBQ island I am building.Will be covered in slate and all the stainless goodies from BBQ'S Galore.Palapa,bamboo,and tiki accents to complete!I will post more pics when done.The next project is the Tiki Bar/game room.

[ Edited by: dmilkman on 2004-11-06 01:09 ]

Wow! I cant wait to see the finished product.

[ Edited by: Peterdragon on 2004-11-06 06:59 ]

D

Dmilkman-I am DROOLING! I love stainless-my husband is an executive chef and I'm a kitchen manager,so stainless is right up our alley! I can't wait to see it finished-beautiful so far!

All I have to say is ... wow. Are you working from plans, or just sort of making it up as you go along? What kind of weld are you using? What made you decide to go this way instead of wood?

Beautiful work.

L

Good Question, Milkman!

Did you buy plans?
Draw your own?
Are you just Free forming it as you go?

Are you placing your vertical poles into buckets of sand, other? They are not concreted into the ground?

Looks incredible!

[ Edited by: Lorenzo on 2004-11-06 09:23 ]

8T

DAMN! you sure you aren't an upcoming episode of "Monster House" ???

D

Thanks for the replies.I kinda drew a picture of what I wanted and went from there.I just bought a bunch of 10 foot lenths of 25 gauge galvanized steel channel and studs.They are all screwed together with 1/2" zinc pan head sheet metal screws.The poles are in 5 gallon buckets with 5 minute pole set mortar,then screwed into the frame on the gound and up to the top.I researched building one of these for a while on the internet,books and looked inside the ones they sell at BBQ's Galore and Lowes.