Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

XBOX question

Pages: 1 9 replies

I am new to Gaming, and just bought the Xbox. My TV is older, and does not have the three colored inputs, only an antenna input. I bought the RF adapter and although I can get the games to work, I am getting a heck of a lot of distortion in the sound, and the images. I cannot fix the contrast on my TV, and the images are extrememly bright and washed out sometimes, and any white or bright objects on the screen (including loading menus) results in a loud buzzing sound. Sometimes, the menus themselves are distorted, almost as though I am receiving the game images thru the air (lie a TV broadcast)

Is this problem based on my poor quality TV? The connections seem tight, but I also noticed regular Videos played thru my VCR (VCR also is older, and only has Antenna/RF output) also seem slightly grainy.

Hey Mick!
Time to ask Santa for a new TV.
Then your X-Box will come alive.

when i got my xbox i had an old tv too. what i did was hook it up thru my vcr. this does not work. it scrambles the signal so you can't copy dvds to vhs(why anyone would want to i don't know). i then hooked it directly to the tv and it was fine.

it could also be that the antenna input on the t.v. is bad. is your vcr attached to the rf adaptor? if so it could be a bad adaptor. the cheapest thing to try would be to return the adaptor and get a new one. if that doesn't work it is probably the T.V.

good luck and hope this helps.

I have to agree with Unga Bunga.

Running an Xbox through a video antenna on a tv old enough to require it, yikes.

That's like putting training wheels on the Space Shuttle.

Spend the $200 and get a modern TV. You'll be much happier.

TM1

Thanx guys....I think it is the crappy TV I need to get rid of!