Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Searching for Tiki Bob New Orleans

Pages: 1 10 replies

R

I am new to collecting Tikis. I have a set of PMP mugs, but my primary passion is to acquire a Bali Hai Tiki Bob Tiki Mug from the defunct Pontchatrain Beach locale. Anyone out there know where one is available for sale?

Ravforu,
Those mugs show up on e-bay from time to time, just keep checking.
What's your interest in that mug? Do you have some connection to the Bali Hai?
I have a pic of my folks at the "Luau" in Miami back in the day. My personal quest is a mug from there.
Anyway, welcome aboard. If you stick around, there's plenty you can learn from the good folks here at TC.
Aloha,
:tiki:

[ Edited by: Tiki Royale on 2004-12-09 23:50 ]

B

[ Edited by: bifcozz 2007-02-09 22:07 ]

T

I saw one not in great shape about 4 weeks ago at a local flea market in Metairie. Person wanted $40. PM me and I can advise as to where to go if you are local.

T

I have one as well, in beautiful condition, but my price is 65.00. If this is too much for you, I understand, but if not, PM me.

Ravforu - To make matters worse, there are at least FOUR versions of this Tiki-Bob style mug from the the Bali Hai. There are TWO versions of the mug from the time the restaurant was known as the "BEACHCOMBER", and then at least TWO from when it was known as the "BALI HA'I".

From the "BEACHCOMBER" days, there is a larger, Jumbo-sized version that was done in a white glaze, with the brown "bark" painted on afterwards in cold-paint. These don't survive so well, as the paint often chips or is worn off. I have one of these mugs and will try to post a pic soon.

Then there is the smaller "BEACHCOMBER" version where the bark is painted on under the glaze. These are nicer, in my opinion, even though they're smaller. Here's a pic of this version, with another pic of the menu, showing the same mug: