Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Hello from SC Tikis

Pages: 1 19 replies

I just wanted to say hello to everyone in Tiki Central. My name is Will and I have been carving tikis for around 10 years. Almost daily, I check out the creating tikis forum and I decided that it is about time that I finally write an article myself.
Thanks to Chongolio at Lost-Isle, I now know how to post pictures through snapfish. Speaking of Chongolio, I couldn't believe all the cool tiki art that he has aquired over the years. Going to his house is like going to an enchanted tiki museum. I was fortunate enough to see some of the smaller tikis that he carved and was quite impressed.

Below, if this Snapfish thing works out for me, is an example of a larger tiki that I carved earlier this year. The wood (redwood) that was used to create this monstrosity has a little story behind it. After a huge storm, a large log washed up on the beach facing steps of the gentleman's beach house who purchased this tiki. Unfortunately, the home owner didn't have any heavy equipment to move this 500lb log. Later that day, a salvage logger drove his huge truck down the beach and proceeded to swoop this log. The homeoner felt an afinity for this piece of wood, since it washed up on his doorstep, and argued with the logger about who had rightful ownership. To make a long story short, the result was that the logger told him that he had a friend, me, who could carve it into a tiki for him; everyone seemed satisified. However, when I finally was ready to grab this log, I was notified that it had a rotton core. Therefore, I had to get another log, but the homeowner was O.K. with this.