Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Help: Tapa Cloth Pattern books/Web sites?

Pages: 1 9 replies

Hi all!

I am an interior design student, working on wallcoverings for the imaginary Polynesian Deluxe Hotel set in San Francisco. I created this hotel last Summer, when I had to select the floorcoverings for it. (Got an A+! Go tiki!)

Anyhow, I have been scouring the Internet for good examples of native tapa cloth patterns from Polynesia, but am having bad luck finding any.

Does anyone know of any books or Web sites that show good examples? I have found plenty of bark cloth patterns from the 1950s (some of which I will be using), but I really would like to see some native patterns.

Can anyone help me out here?

Mahalo!
Deery Luau

[ Edited by: Deery Luau on 2005-02-16 13:05 ]

It's late and my brain is ready for meltdown, but my Grandfather brought back a huge stack of Tapa from all over polynesia back in the late 30's. I have some of it. He wrote a book called polynesian venture (doubleday) By Truman Bailey. Write if you want more info. Aloha nui loa

Amazon.com

Paperback: 160 pages
Publisher: Thames & Hudson (April 1, 1998)
ISBN: 0500279896

Looks like it's out of print, but Amazon has a used copy for $178.00 (!)

Hm, that book looks perfect. I am hoping my college's library or the Baltimore public library has a copy...

$178! What the?!

Will also check out Wes' granddaddy's book, if I can find a copy!

Thanks for the leads, guys!