Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

United States Lines mugs

Pages: 1 14 replies

Alright...I'm a total newbie when it comes to collecting tiki so I need some imput.

Couple of days ago I found a set of 6 United States Lines tiki mugs that included a tiki, a pineapple, trigger fish, bird, volcano and a wave being surfed. They all are in their original boxes. The opening bid was only $25 so I put a bid in on a lark AND WON! Total comes to about $46 for the 6 mugs.

I know nothing about the United States Line mugs. Are there more designs? Did I get a decent deal? Please, educate me.

Are they from the American Hawaiian Cruise line? If so, you got a good price. They are collectable now because they went out of business, I think about five years ago. I use to be a bartender with them in the eighties.
Show some pics please.

I'm not completly sure. The auction ad said that they were collected right before the line went out of business I would assume that it is the Hawaiian Cruise Lines.

[ Edited by: Dancin' Lizard on 2005-03-07 13:26 ]

T
teaKEY posted on Mon, Mar 7, 2005 3:09 PM

I bet that these came from Hawaii. Am I right? These were from of all people, Gecko, I believe.

Well, I did a little snooping around ebay to see if anything else like this had more information and all I found was that they were apparently sold in the gift shops of the United States Lines. So far that's all I came up with.

It's reasonable to assume that they did come from the Hawaiian Cruises.

K
Kono posted on Mon, Mar 7, 2005 3:41 PM

Rum-dum recently sold ONE of those volcano mugs for $43 so I guess you did OK. Could've been a fluke though.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=3953712039&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT

I kinda dig the triggerfish mug.