Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

Old telephone repair How to's?

Pages: 1 7 replies

S

Know where I can find some free online telephone repair info for old phones? When I search I only find people charging for the service. I've found info about a good book out there, but I can't find anyone who carries it. I found an old rotary phone at a garage sale (old bakelite kind) and have gotten it so I can hear sound, but I'd like to go the whole nine yards.

Any info appreciated!

I have been collecting rotary phones for about ten years.

The book you want is "Old-Time Telephones!: Technology, Restoration, and Repair" by Ralph O. Meyer. Amazon.com says it's out of print, but you can probably get it via interlibrary loan if your local library doesn't have it.

S

Thanks Cynful. good idea. I got an email from one of the places that no longer carries it and got this reply:

"Ralph's book is very informative about the styles and changes of the phones and I use his book almost daily. But for actual repair I would recommend the Steve Hilsz books."

Know abything about these books?

By the way, I grew up in the Sunset at Noriega and 36th. My old number, 566-5899 used to be Lombard 6-5899. I liked those name number combinations better.

On 2005-06-08 18:28, spy-tiki wrote:
"Ralph's book is very informative about the styles and changes of the phones and I use his book almost daily. But for actual repair I would recommend the Steve Hilsz books."

Know abything about these books?

Yeah! Check out his website:

http://www.navysalvage.com/

G
gonzo posted on Sat, Jun 18, 2005 9:25 PM

Phones are cool!!

I used to collect phones in my past life. I still have several candlesticks and a wall phone.

These can be made to work if I recall correctly you need what is known as a network to make it FCC approved. It will work without but the sound wont be good.