Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Palm carving mold/mildew

Pages: 1 9 replies

Hello everyone! I'm a rookie carver with the hope of becoming as talented as all carvers posting here. I have done 3 tikis so far, but am having a problem with mold on the exposed palm that I sealed with sanding sealer. I realize that the palm log retains alot of moisture, but thought it could still dry out through the top and bottom. Is there a better product to seal with, without molding? I thought I would try asking before I go through the trial and error method($$$) thank you very much. KHK

T

I use boat varnish and 2 part bar top resin...
Hope it helps!

the tiki will still dry out? do the properties of the varnish prevent the mold? thanks, KHK

even if you varnish the tiki, it will still get moldy. i'm fighting mold on mine right now. I talked to Benz about it, and he recommended a cup of bleach to a gallon of water and brush or spray it on the tiki and leave it on. i ended up spraying pure bleach on one, since the diluted stuff didn't seem to help, since it was a very heavy mold coating.

don't poly coat the tikis if the are wet; let them dry thoroughly, but seeing as you live in FL, who knows if it will ever dry out again!

thanks Palama tiki, so if I were to sell any heads, do you think I should not seal them if it was a fresh carving to avoid complaints? Right now I don't have a large stockpile, so I've been carving as I find a piece. From a fresh cut palm, how long do you recommend it drying? thanks again. KHK

My suggestion would be to sell as-is if it is not completely dry. you may want to ask the customer where the carving will reside; inside or out. if they want to polycoat it, that will be their decision, but i would recommend explaining the situation to them to avoid any complaints down the road. some people like their tikis unfinished and want them to weather and age.