Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

The Cheap Dark Rum Taste Off

Pages: 1 15 replies

A few weeks ago, I finally did what I always wanted to do…see how all these different rums I have at home taste in a mixed drink. Since I don't have any sipping rums (you know, all the rums say they're good for sipping on the label, but we all know that's BS).
I didn't have any expensive rum to stack against the cheapies, but I thought that for most home bartending stints, people usually use the more affordable brands, anyway, especially if they are entertaining guests.
Disclaimer : I'm not a rum expert, and I don't have the sophisticated palette of say, my good friend weirduncletiki (winemaker by profession). The rest of the panel members in the 2 sessions were not experts either, so take everything with a grain of salt (or bar sugar, if you want).
There have been two taste-off sessions; the first one was conducted by Dale, her coworkers Michelle, Jeremy and Cathie, plus yours truly. The second one was conducted by Jonpaul (photographer for Tiki Magazine), Marie (his girlfriend and a bartender at Buster's Beach House in Long Beach), Dale and me.

The first session pitted these dark rums against each other, with a few wild cards thrown in the mix(marked with an *):
Myres's Dark Jamaican
Coruba Dark Jamaican
Gosling's Black Seal
Trader Vic's Dark Rum
Cruzan Black Strap
Lemon Hart Demarera 80 proof *
Pusser's Navy Rum *
Appleton V/X *

The second session was the same, except that instead of the last wild card (Appleton V/X, which I ran out of), I used Mount Gay Eclipse Barbados Rum.

The procedure was the same for both sessions:
A mix of all the ingredients of Trader Vic's Grog, except the rum, was prepared, in a quantity sufficient for 8 drinks.