Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Luau Hut -- possibly silly question

Pages: 1 7 replies

S

I'm a newbie here and just started collecting tiki (tho I've been a fan for ages). I did a search trying to make sure no had posted this answer elsewhere and didn't find anything.

I have TIKI ROAD TRIP and use it to check on defunct restaurants and bars when collecting mugs. But am curious about the LUAU HUT mugs I see everywhere. Was the Luau Hut an actual place that all of these mugs came from? Or was it a brand?

I'm assuming it was a place. If yes, where was it located? And does anyone know when it went under (if it did)?
p.s. is this information in the Book of Tiki -- which I realize I need to purchase?

Thank you.

T

Searching the WWW I found the following restaurants:

Luau Hut, Silver Spring, MD
Luau Hut, (in Luke's Chinese restaurant), Providence, RI
Both are closed according to http://www.tikibars.net/tiki/closed.html

Hope this helps...

Also found:
Luke's Luau Hut, Providence RI
The Luau Hut, Washington, DC

Luau Hut, Japanese Mug Maker

S

So the mugs like this:

Are MADE BY Luau Hut? And are not from any restaurant, right?

J

I believe the mug you posted is an Orchids of Hawaii mug that the Luau Hut customized and used... I'm not positive but the 2 mugs I have from the Luau Hut are both marked "Orchids" on the bottom. Also, if you've been finding them everywhere would you want to make a trade for one? I don't have one like this.

S

On 2005-08-08 15:51, johntiki wrote:
Also, if you've been finding them everywhere would you want to make a trade for one? I don't have one like this.

I might have been slightly exaggerating with the word "everywhere!" I meant that I had seen one recently on eBay and also on another auction site as well as photos from folks' private collections. The eBay one was green, tho.

If you're still interested in the eBay one: