Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Dogbytes' Mess O Tiki~ Everything posted.. (update 9/24)

Pages: 1 18 replies

D

I’ve been talking about this in Shout for a few days now, and thought I should post in the forums.

I was first to reply to a Seattle Craigslist Ad that read "Witco cocktail table, also have tiki mug collection of about 40 pieces 150.00 Assorted Tiki collectibles, coco joes, some restaurant menus,and bar accessories. would prefer to sell as a collection. 100.00. Also have a set of 1940's Weil Ware dishes with bamboo motif.very beautiful. 100.00. these are extremely good prices for these extra cool treasures. I'll send pictures to those who are seriously interested.Ive been collecting tiki for about 15 years,so I know what I have."

would this be too good to be true? ~ NO

That’s the Assorted Tiki Collectibles. sold! I didn’t even take a picture of the mugs because I saw the Trader Vic’s Seathorse… I passed on the Witco, which was awesome, but just too darned large!

The best part of this story is that the seller, Dawn ~ is a local artist whose work, I’ve always admired. I purchased a couple pieces of her art!

I’m still sorting through boxes ~ taking pictures before finding space in the Rongorongo Room for my treasures. Look for more posts starting with Dogbytes Mess o Tiki(separated by category: wood, cocojoes, ephemera, mugs, art). will get it scanned and photographed as time permits!

elicia
the luckiest girl in the tiki universe.

contact me if you see something you'd like to trade!

[ Edited by: dogbytes 2005-09-24 15:38 ]

B

Congrats on the Mother Load! AND a Coconut!!!

Nice haul,DB. Did you happen to get any pics of the Witco piece?

Fantastic finds!!!

Ya know how somebody inevitably sees something in a picture that has nothing to do with the intent of the post? Well, here goes . .