Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

I am going to try carving....

Pages: 1 6 replies

Every year I buy myself a christmas present. This year its going to be some carving tools. I used to be a tile contractor, so I have a angle grinder and lots of experience with it. I am thinking of getting either the arbortec or lancelot wheels, and a dremel. Any tips or information would be great. Thanks.

B

Alright, dive on in.
You have the right idea. Get some tools and carve a tiki. Once you get to that point, you will be bitten and will forever want to carve tiki. Go for it and Post pictures. We Wanna See

L
Loki posted on Wed, Dec 21, 2005 7:21 AM

Watch out...you are going to be hooked. I recently started myself and now have dreams of the next project and how to carve better, etc...Have fun with it, be patient and ask questions. There is so much tallent here and everyone is willing to help.

By the way, chisels bite, be careful.

Arbortech Power Chisels can handle the heavy work, but lancelot & Dremels can only take so much abuse. They (Dremel & Lancelot) are great for detail.
Party on!

Bigkahuna627, Welcome to TC. The first, most basic thing you will need is some chisels. If you're short on bucks, you can get some flat Stanleys just to get yourself started. The better chisels will cost more. A set of nice Flexcuts (6 piece set) will be around $150 or so.

The Lancelot is nice for removing lots of wood. It is too heavy duty for small details though, and will really kick back if you nudge it in the wrong direction. Be super careful with this tool - it can really jack you up if your attention wanders for a second or if you're tired.