Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Trader Vic's Mug Questions

Pages: 1 7 replies

T
  1. Can anyone tell me when Trader Vic's stopped using various ceramic tiki mugs for drinks. Since I've been of drinking age Trader's has always used glasses.

2. Are Trader Vic's mugs with "made for Trader Vic's" on the bottom (as in part of the casting) older than those without.

3. Has anyone seen a Trader Vic's drink bowl with menehune around it before? I have a friend with one he wants to sell for $35. Any history on these?

Thanks

Tiki Bong

As far as the Trader Vic's menehune bowl goes... I have one of those. It came from the Chicago Trader Vic's and the stamp on the bottom reads "Trader Vic's 1972" It's a fab small scorpion bowl for one and the frolicking menehune on the side make me want to slurp down the cocktail and join them! I'm no expert on the value of these things, so if it's worth $35 to you go for it. I will say that in my years spent in various Trader Vic's, I haven't seen another one so this is a nice find for you.
Let us know if you find out any more history on it.

-Weird Uncle Tiki

p.s. My regular haunt, Trader Vic's Beverly Hills, does still use ceramic mugs for several of their drinks. Order a gun club punch, fogcutter, kamaiina, coffee grog, tiki bowl, scorpion, or a few others and you'll value the vessel!

[ Edited by: weirduncletiki on 2002-05-06 11:35 ]

T

tiki bong wrote:
"1) Can anyone tell me when Trader Vic's stopped using various ceramic tiki mugs for drinks. Since I've been of drinking age Trader's has always used glasses. "

Several of the drinks served at Trader Vic's (at least at the Emeryville location) come in ceramic mugs, including:

kamaaina - coconut mug you get to keep
fog cutter - large hula girl mug
gun club punch - shotgun shell shaped mug
honi honi - recently reintroduced painted short mug with comic island scenes like on menu