Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Fond memories of tiki Kowloon in saugas Mass.

Pages: 1 4 replies

OK, so im as new can be! 10 mins to be exact. I have been collecting tiki for about 4 years now and have some pretty cool stuff so far including 2 matching Frankoma war gods that i found in the wild for 1.81 clams each @ my local thrift store. I was hooked to say the least. My earliest tiki memories are of going on school trips and stopping at The Kowloon in saugus mass. for our lunch. My heart skipped a beat when ever that big 'ol bus pulled up to the front!!! I live in Denver, Colorado now and i have to say the tiki scene is meager at best aside from Boyds place on Colfax. I was absolutly love to meet other people from The Denver area that share my passion and UTTER obsession with all things TIKI...By the way..tiki central YOU ROCK!!

Z

Hula - I sent you a PM.

Zulu

Thanks Zulu..its great to know that the Tiki culture is alive and well in The Denver area. If anyone else is from around here give a shout! BTW does anyone else have some fond memories of the Kowloon?Those flaming pupu platters always made me ohhh and awww when i was a kid and to see people drinking out of those great vintage tiki mugs definitely shaped my desire to get some when i started collecting.Yeesh! they go for an arm and a leg on ebay...what the heck makes them so desirable..it more of a nostalgia thing for me. To find them in the wild will be defiantly a challege but then again im blessed with some good mojo!!!

J

I've lived in NE all my life and have only trekked to Kowloon once (soon to be twice!). I can see how the place can leave an impression. The food and drink is good, plus the atmosphere provides a wonderful escape from the rigidity that is NE. If I went there when I was a kid my tiki affliction would probably be rather serious now.

S