Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Bar Business

Pages: 1 11 replies

We are now in our third month of business. As a newbie, I was hoping to get feedback from bar owners and anyone with thoughts on the following:

1. Co-Promotions... A friend advised taking a cooperative vs competitive approach in regards to local Hawaiian theme companies, Tiki Bars, etc. We would like to run with this idea and work with as many bars as possible in celebrating lei day this May. I think that if several businesses worked together in promoting this Hawaiian holiday and offering the same specials, we will receive good press. Has anyone seen this happen? If so, can you share your experieces? I had the door slammed on me when contacting Chef Shangrila. Next Monday, I meet with the owner of the Canoe Club. I hope they will be receptive?

2. Expansion... Can anyone share details of Tiki Bars (smaller bars in particular) that expanded within its first year? I know the risks of growing too quickly. We are a small place and lose much business every weekend because of the wait. There may be an opportunity to expand in the near future.

As a small/new bar owner, I appreciate any advice you can give.

Aloha
Scott

PS Check us out in the Tribune today.. there is a small mention of the Tiki Terrace.. on page 3 I think???

R

Scott - no advice, just an observation: your food was WONDERFUL when we were at Tiki Terrace for dinner. Even though we were blown away by the decor and the drinks and we would come back for those things alone, we are even more excited that we get to eat there again!

T

Hey TikiTerrace...
Nice going on just making your place a tiki only ... Alot of 'STUDS' on this forum says it can't be done !!! [no names mentioned] ...
Hat Tip to you

K