Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

My new power carver.

Pages: 1 8 replies

Hello,

I am new here, and just recently (an hour ago) purchased my first power carver. It is the Foredom 2276 Flex Shaft Power Tool Kit. I have no experience, whatsoever, with carving - but have always had the desire for it. I got my unit (still unopened) from Lowe's, at a clearance price of $100. I think that it is a good price, and wanted to know what would be your recommendations for a decent carving bit assortment kit. Thanks in advance.

G
GMAN posted on Tue, Apr 25, 2006 11:31 AM

NLA,

Nice job, I got the same kit from Lowes for 130 bucks a while back.

Get yourself a reciprocating handpiece for the Foredom, either the Foredom #50 or the Weicher (spelling?) handpiece and some flexcut gouges for it. I bought the 4 piece "roughing" set they sell at Treeline. I likes 'em. You can't go wrong with it. Also take the Benz sharpening course as you will need to sharpen you gouges every few minutes to keep them working well. The sharper the betta.

-Gman

J

Welcome aboard.

Check here for a lot of answers
http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=10451&forum=7&161

Post progress soon
JP

N

Gman & JohnnyP,

Thanks much, for your responses. You know, I STILL haven't taken the carver out of the box yet. The deal is that I am so afraid that - once I do - I am going to be on it for the night. So, I am waiting til tomorrow morning to tear into some wood. Thanks for the provided info, and I am going to check into the mentioned attachments just as soon as I finish this.

Well, I hope to have something - before long - to post pics of. I do know that one of the things I want to do is to carve playing pieces for a rather large chess set, that I desire to make for sale. We'll see what happens.

G
GMAN posted on Tue, Apr 25, 2006 8:47 PM