Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Splitting bamboo.

Pages: 1 11 replies

Hi everybody.
I´m new to this place. Me and my brother is building a tiki bar and i joined for tips and inspiration for the project.
Now for the question. I have some experience in working with wood. BUT never with bamboo. I need to split a bamboo pole about 5-6 cm thick and 2.4 meters long.
What is the best and safest way to do this? I need both of the halves to be straight. Does bamboo crack straight if i was to hammer a knife in one end and keep pounding it all the way through? The bamboo poles themselves are quite straight.

Hope to hear some words of wisdom from members of the board soon.

[ Edited by: tikidreams 2006-05-12 08:39 ]

M
McTiki posted on Tue, May 9, 2006 8:06 AM

Tikidreams,

I have limited experience with Bamboo ranging from 1/2 inches dia. to nearly 5 inches in dia. They have sections that when trying to force the peices apart, stop the splitting and either break, or the split contines, but to a narrower side (weakest) So, I ended up using a tablesaw which works very well. Smooth and even cuts as long as you want them. With a sharp blade, I have ripped 18 foot long lengths without issue.

I hope this helps

Mahalo

P
pdrake posted on Tue, May 9, 2006 8:44 AM

they make tools for this. check it out.

http://www.bamboocraft.net/workshop/showphoto.php?photo=783

D

I must have misspelled when i used the search the first time.
Thanks for the help.
Looks like I´ll use a table saw at my friends workplace. The big question now is how to get the poles there.

[ Edited by: tikidreams 2006-05-09 09:47 ]

K

Just go for the hammer and the knife... it's effective and cheap.