Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

Californiana: The Nut Tree

Pages: 1 7 replies

Hey All here's my first post to the boards. It's not Tiki but it definitely falls under the banner of amazing old Californian Architecture of the 50's - 60's .
The Nut Tree was a tourist spot in Alameda county it's coming back as one of those faux luxe living complexes that are so popular out there. That sucks but what doesnt suck is the following website documenting the old Nut Tree. I went there a bunch as a kid and I love this whole vibe. I dunno if it qualifies as googie architecture as im no expert but these photos are priceless.
http://www.alamedainfo.com/nut_tree_CA.htm
Also http://www.alamedainfo.com/ has TONS of vintage photographs of San Francisco and The East Bay that are sure to please. Be sure to check out the restaurants in Oakland too super bachelor pad style!

T
thejab posted on Fri, Jun 2, 2006 3:31 PM

Hmmm, I wonder what they served in the hollowed out pineapples. Tropical drinks?

S

I grew up in San Francisco and the Nut tree seemed an endless drive (at the time). I don't remember the pineapples, but I do remember they served little Whitecastle type hamburgers to the kiddies of which I was one at the time.

[ Edited by: spy-tiki 2006-06-05 09:15 ]

P

Crap, I thought we were all shading under the Nut Tree. And, yes, I remember the pineapples.
XXXOOO

On 2006-06-02 16:34, spy-tiki wrote:
I grew up in San Francisco and the Nut tree seemed an endless drive (at the time). I don't remember the pineapples, but I do remember they served little Whitecastle type hamburgers to the kiddies of which I was on at the time.

me too! how funny. i will have to ask my parents next time i talk to them.

CL