Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Tiki Carving 101

Pages: 1 3 replies

Hi Everyone!

I'm a newbie when it comes to carving but would love to get started. I've got a few questions that I haven't been able to find answers to by searching the archives. Or if they have been answered, I didn't find them. So please bear with me if some of these questions have been answered elsewhere. Also, maybe this would be a good place for neophyte carvers like myself to post general questions and have the masters answer them for us. Anyway, here are a few of my questions.

1. Being a newbie to the carving world, can you give me the name or names of some good chisels to get started with that won't break the bank and where you've found really good deals on them, either online or at retail stores.

2. Speaking of retail stores, can you find anything of quality at Home Depot or Lowe's? What about Sears? If you have a retail store you shop at, what is the name of it?

3. As for dremel bits/burrs, I see from the archives that you guys really like the tungsten carbide burrs. Where is a good place to find them and about what do they cost?

4. Last question for now. :) Where would one find a good hook knife and what kind should I get?

Just for your information, in case it helps, I plan on starting on doing smaller, palm-sized, tiki's to start with and then moving on to 3'-4' tall tikis later for the garden. Wood types would be whatever I can find to tinker on to start with. I'm a landscape architect so I've got some good connections with landscapers. Probably Pine, Queen, and Mexican Fan Palm are going to be my staples. Mahalo in advance for all of your help!
-Boyd