Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

what should I pay for a used tiki bar

Pages: 1 6 replies

W

I'm new to tiki, but I love the tiki spirit. I'm looking for a tiki bar as the focal point for my pool patio (lanai) and found this locally (in San Francisco) on craigslist.org. What's a good price I should offer for this tiki bar? I like the dark bamboo compared the one bar that Target was selling early this summer. Thanks, or "Mahalo" in advance for your opinions!

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/pen/fur/197246223.html

I think the seller is asking a fair price for the bar. I'd offer $350 and see what happens.

That thing is gorgeous. I'd be very hesitant to put it outside though.

T

I'm new here also my Wife & I just finished building our own small Tiki Bar. We both have minimal construction skills but were able to pull it off for around $100.00. If you surf the posts here @ Tikicentral you will see a lot of people with all ranges of construction skills building their own bars & saving $$$. Frankly if I couldn't walk into a "used" bar for sale at $300.00 or less I'd build my own. Thats just my 2 cents. Good luck!

Thortiki

W
wahoo posted on Thu, Aug 24, 2006 3:01 PM

I rather not spend the time building a bar. I'm not that creative and handy. I really like the soft corners of this bar. I've seen a lot of bars with rectangular table surfaces. This bar would go well with some of my big tiki stuff I got from a recent Hawaii trip. Next I'll need to look for an old long board to hang on the wall. This is a great website. I'll have to browse around the forums for more tiki room ideas/inspirations.

Luckily I emailed the seller before I started this post. Looks like someone beat me to the bar but that person has not come by with the money yet.

You need to make a trip down South and go to Bamboo Ben's. If he doesn't have what you want he will make what you want. :)