Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Cheeky Girl's Carvings

Pages: 1 2 73 replies

I didn't notice until it was too late that my neighbors were cutting down a palm tree, otherwise I would have asked them to save me a nice 5 or 6 foot section.

I was able to salvage a couple of pieces. All a little over 2 feet (26" to 30" sections), I figured it's a good start. I'm not sure what species of palm it is as I couldn't find any foilage. It's time to "just do"

Here's the beginning of my carving journey.

GO FOR IT !!!!!

Looking forward to the results....

:)

WOOOOOHOOOO! Go for it. We can't wait to see the finished product. Make sure it is holding a Soccer Ball :wink:

Hey Cheeky I'm also new to carving and I have two pieces similar to yours..can't wait to see your progress..I think I'm gettin' inspired.

M

Hey Cheeky, What tools are you attacking it with? Right on! Dive in.

Mahalo

McTiki

Tools, right now a bit of rum and a hand-truck. Actually, I'm going to Home Depot to pick up some chisels today. Just checking out a couple of old thread on tools, but I've been sketching like crazy though!

B
Bete posted on Sun, Oct 1, 2006 11:13 AM

Looking forward to your carving adventure here, good luck with it! Cool looking table in the background by the way.

Since Harbor Freight is a store that specializes in tools, I figured they would have loads and loads of wood working tools. I was seriously disappointed! I ended up going to Home Depot. Here's what I found. I know I need to pick up lots more, but it's a start.

T

Good start! I like buck bros. stuff. Look at FlexCut tools too. They are the cream of the crop.

You might want to study the quality of product sold by Harbor Frieght. Most of their chinese-made hand tools suck. I've been seriously disappointed (but what did I expect? You get what you pay for).