Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Must have ingredients?

Pages: 1 21 replies

Hey fellow mixologists..

I just finished building my bar, and I'm eager to get it stocked up. So, being a newbie, I have this question for all the Mixing Gods out there... What Ingredients would you consider to be the "must haves" for any tiki bar...

Very Thirsty,
fairlanerodder62

I'd say you can put falernum at the top of your list.

Then buy the Grog Log & Intoxica by Beachbum Berry, thats how I stocked mine. Great recipes and advice.

Good mixing

[ Edited by: Ojaitimo 2006-10-15 23:48 ]

Yes on the Falernum.

Second to that you will want lots of Pimento liqueur.

Rums:
Dark Jamaican
Gold Jamaican
Barbados rum
White Puerto Rican
Gold Puerto Rican
Puerto Rican 151
Demerara
Demerara 151
Haitian
Martinique

Syrups:
Orgeat
Passion Fruit
Grenadine
Rock Candy
Falernum
Sweet and Sour

Etc:
Brandy
Curacao
Triple Sec
Orange Juice
Pineapple Juice
Angostura Bitters

Fresh limes - I always keep a supply on hand.

On 2006-10-15 22:13, fairlanerodder62 wrote:
...What Ingredients would you consider to be the "must haves" for any tiki bar...

Very Thirsty,
fairlanerodder62

Aloha and welcome to TC.

As to the bar and what should you have.... what do you drink? What do you like? Are you wanting to go all-out on the Tiki drinks? Or do you want a more diverse selection of ingredients to serve classic cocktails as well?