Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

witco warclubs

Pages: 1 15 replies

Hi.I'm new to TC but have been collecting for awhile. Can anyone help with some information on the witco piece? Thanks

Ahoy and Welcome to TC! I'm sure someone will be able to help you out.

Here's some useless info for you.. Those are sweet!!

Thanks for the welcome. I found this about a year ago at a barn sale. It's about 70" by 16". A mouse had made a nest behind it as it hung on the wall. thought it would be a good backbar piece.

that piece is just freakin awesome!

That's quite a piece, indeed! I remember seeing the individual pieces in early Witco catalogues, but never in this combination! Real cool abstract primitivism.
Maybe keigs can find out more about it...

Hey, perhaps it was custom-made for a restaurant! Click-click...rattle...Ching!:

There used to be a great Tiki temple, the Tur Mai Kai, in Kalamazoo. It became a Chinese restaurant, but kept its Tiki decor from the 60s. Unfortunately, it was razed a couple of years ago....maybe it's from there?

Duke Carter used to go there, maybe he remembers seeing that piece in situ?

[ Edited by: bigbrotiki 2006-10-25 10:39 ]

Aloha Uncle Trav! Nice Witco! I haven't seen that one before! You really scored! Looks like you have a nice mug collection too.

Thanks for the info. I live not to far from the old Tur Mai Kai.Did some research and found the interior was desinged and decorated by Oceanic Arts back in 1969. At the time it cost 75 grand. They had a closing sale open to the public a couple of days before it was torn down. When the doors were opened for the sale all of the tiki was already gone! I do have a menu and book of matches.

K

I too found the masks and clubs like Bigbro says but not a combination of the two. I am going to Bills Sunday and will see If I can find a picture or some info there.