Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Shag original painting newbie needing help...

Pages: 1 20 replies

Hi there,

I'm new to Shag and the Tiki scene but first and foremost, I love what I see so far and have become quite a fan of Shag. I'm fortunate enough to be able to afford his original paintings and was wondering if you (the community) had any advice on selecting a piece. A couple of questions:

• Is now a good time to buy or has he become so popular that prices are outrageous?
  • I'm interested in larger pieces (bigger than 20" x 20")...what would you say the average price is for these pieces?
  • What's the best way to purchase them? I saw a few on eBay but it looks like they have high reserve prices.
  • Are Shag paintings considered "investment" pieces? This is more of an afterthought, but it would be nice if I didn't lose a lot of money down the road if something happened and I had to sell it.
  • Any other tips would be appreciated

anybody?

sorry, I think I posted in the wrong section:

Hi there,

I'm new to Shag and the Tiki scene but first and foremost, I love what I see so far and have become quite a fan of Shag. I'm fortunate enough to be able to afford his original paintings and was wondering if you (the community) had any advice on selecting a piece. A couple of questions:

• Is now a good time to buy or has he become so popular that prices are outrageous?
  • I'm interested in larger pieces (bigger than 20" x 20")...what would you say the average price is for these pieces?
  • What's the best way to purchase them? I saw a few on eBay but it looks like they have high reserve prices.
  • Are Shag paintings considered "investment" pieces? This is more of an afterthought, but it would be nice if I didn't lose a lot of money down the road if something happened and I had to sell it.
  • Any other tips would be appreciated

..welcome aboard!!!