Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

How old are these?

Pages: 1 5 replies

MN

Rockler had a swapmeet on Sunday and the only thing I felt good about buy were a few draw knives. Did you know people collect things like old woodworking tools. Those people are total dorks.:D

Anyways, since I am new to carving and am not able to spot a great deal on chisels I picked up some draws. A new one is $75, sheesh. Ones that are 100 years old are about $20.
Heck yeah I bought a $20 draw. And a $10 & $15.

I am not a total newb. I knew that just cuz an item that is stamped 1837 does not mean that it was made in 1837.

They came pre-sharpened. Or is it just sharpened?

They seem to work well so far.

P
pdrake posted on Tue, Nov 7, 2006 9:32 AM

i'd say they are early 20th cent. they are forged which is a good thing. some of the newer ones are stamped. these are easier to sharpen, and will take a nice edge. due to steel becoming more refined through the years, a newer, forged piece will keep an edge longer, but these are very good tools.

or, i could be totally wrong. i did just make all that up.

How well do they skin logs? That's all that matters, right? :wink:

Which Rocklers had the swap meet? Are they having any more? The $75 price tag is the only thing that's kept me from buying one so far.

A-A

MN

On 2006-11-07 12:41, Aaron's Akua wrote:
How well do they skin logs? That's all that matters, right? :wink:

Which Rocklers had the swap meet? Are they having any more? The $75 price tag is the only thing that's kept me from buying one so far.

A-A

It was San Diego. I am on the email list and didn't know about it until Meiko mentioned it.