Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Need some ideas on what to do next on my first tiki carving....

Pages: 1 12 replies

Hello all, please don't laugh at my first attempt to carve a Tangaroa Tiki Head. I'm new to carving and I'm not sure how to finish my Tiki.
I want to polish him up a bit and maybe add a little more detail. Any ideas guys? I used three different chisels and a malot. I know most of you are experts in your field and any advice to a novice would be greatly appreciated.....Mahalo!

Step One...

Step Two...

Step Three...

Thanks for your help....nomad.

B

You are on the right track Nomad, and you are doin just fine. Keep making your V lines deeper around the mouth and eyes, just like you have in the middle of the eyes and mouth. When you get them that deep, then deepen those central lines more yet. Now would be a good time to remove the bark and the log looks fairly fresh so it should strip off pretty easily. After you get the bark off you should paint the ends with latex paint to close the pores so the moisture doesn't escape too quickly and cause the tiki to Split Open.
I Hope this helps. When you get all that done ask more questions and post more pictures along the way. You're doing great!

Thanks alot benzart, I really appreciate the expert tips.
I'll work more on it tomorrow and continue to update my progress....peace.

Here are more pictures of my work in progress.......

More tips on what to do next are greatly appreciated.....
I have to finish the other side carving deeper lines then I want to polish him up alot, make him look real smooth....
Mahalo.......nomad.

[ Edited by: Tikinomad 2006-11-14 17:15 ]

B