Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Exotic Liqueurs in Tiki drinks

Pages: 1 10 replies

Q

I've been going through some of Beachbum's drink recipes over the past few months and bought a bottle of Barenjager to use in a couple of drink recipes. It adds an interesting note for sure. Any other tiki drinks use the stuff (besides Beachbum's recipes). How about Stroh or Maraschino (haven't bought these yet)?

[ Edited by: quickiki 2006-11-15 16:09 ]

RB

Off the top of my head, I know there's one Beachbum Berry recipe using Stroh, as well as several using maraschino liqueur.

K

Do you own the less obscure ingredients already?

ie: flavored brandies, creme de cacao, Alize, 43, sweet and dry vermouth, etc.

If not, start there. You can make more drinks if you have those than you can with Stroh and Baerenjaeger.

Ahu

Q

Although admittedly I'm a bit of a novice in mixing Tiki drinks, I do have a pretty good selection of rums, liqueurs and aperitifs, as far as the standard stuff goes.

I have sampled several recipes from both the Grog Log and Intoxica, with good results, I might add. That's why I'm curious, but hesitant to spring for buying these liqueurs for just one cocktail recipe, unless of course, they are truly great by themselves or can be used for other cocktails.

Has anybody tried these liqueurs and can enlighten me as to how they taste?

Early on after I got BBB's books I spent a LOT of time tracking down the different ingredients. I decided to try and save some money on the booze (especially for a drink I might not like) and buy mini bottles.

I currently have 50mL "mini" bottles of:
Frangelico
Campari
Barenjager
Pernod
Yukon Jack
...as well as these 3 which lead to purchasing the large bottles... several times each...
Courvoisier
Cuarenta y tres
Damiana