Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

The Wayne County Surf Club Update 12/06/06

Pages: 1 9 replies

Hope you all find this interesting. Here is a picture or Two of my work in progress, tenetively titled The Wayne County Surf Club. I'm a musician, and needed a place to call my own, so I put up a 24x36' building at our place in PA. Then with the invaluable assistance of a contractor friend, we tricked out the interior. Working mostly weekends, it took about a year to complete. I decided against putting running water into the building, but did run heat to it. Alot of the Tiki stuff I got from Benson's, and the wood paneling was local rough cut hemlock. Because it is a music space, put put a layer or two of sound insulation in the walls, so hopefully that will help with the heating as well.

The offical opening was Memorial Day weekend. Here is a picture of the building right after it went up.

Here is a view looking toward the "stage" area...

Here's a picture looking back toward the Bar area.

And of course, when one has a Tiki Lounge, one has to have the proper sort of ride as well.

Most of the furniture and decorations were found at auctions or yard sales, or were items from my grandparent's house. It is quite surprising how many items from the "wild and Swingin'" era turn up at yard sales in the wilds of PA....

[ Edited by: Curse of the Undead 2006-12-06 07:19 ]

C

Nice!!! I think that a Tiki space of your own is the greatest investment! I'm trying it too, I've just posted a pic of it at my thread, tell me what you think...
Congrats on the cars too! Greetings!

Aloha Curse!