Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Recipe: my very first drink recipe

Pages: 1 3 replies

Here is my very first attempt at my own drink, as yet unnamed. It's a lot like other drinks but more tart than most. My favorite drinks are tart, or bitter like a gin and tonic so that will describe why I like this.

Fill tall glass with ice
1 1/2 oz Appleton 12 year rum
1 oz Barbancourt Pango rhum
1 1/2 oz orange curacao
2 oz orange juice
2 oz cranberry juice
2 oz pineapple juice
juice of 1 lime
dash angostura bitters
garnish with marischino cherry, orange slice, whatever you like.
Drink, rinse, repeat, fall over.

If you like it sweeter add simple syrup or rock candy.

I'm a newbie so this recipe may be known by another name, if so let me know please. Happy New Year.

That is one tall drink..... 12 ounces (ish)!

Sounds yummy, but I have a few questions for you....

Why did you choose cranberry?

Have you tried using Orange Bitters?

Have you tried this one in a blender yet? It sounds like it would do well with a quick spin....

Hey Chip and Andy,

I chose cranberry cause I like it, no science or reasoning behind it. I think I may try it with something like passionfruit or even tamarind instead of the cranberry. (I guess cranberry is a bit Yankee for a tiki drink.) I don't have any orange bitters, but I'll give em a whirl and let you know how it goes.

Oh and I altered it a bit to make it more rummy and with less curacao (It's kind of overbearing).

Fill tall glass with ice
2 oz Appleton 12 year rum
1 1/2oz Barbancourt Pango rhum
1/2 oz orange curacao
2 oz orange juice
2 oz cranberry juice
2 oz pineapple juice
juice of 1 lime (key lime)
dash angostura bitters
garnish with marischino cherry, orange slice, whatever you like.