Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Another sign project - Jetsetter Lounge

Pages: 1 16 replies

HK

I put this together as a gift for Mike Jones at The Jetsetter Lounge in Lake Worth, FL. The JSL has become something of a home away from home for us, and I wanted to show Mike a little appreciation.

I used an opaque projector to blow up the business card design for my layout. As a beginning artist, I'm learning the importance of taking ample time during this step. Both this sign and the Mai Kai sign I made have some symmetry issues. I feel confident that patience and more experience with the required tools will help me get better...hopefully!

I started with the letters and a rough cut of the background.

The letters are painted and I started carving the inside Diamonds.

Skipping a few steps, the paint is done except for the trim.

With the black trim.

Finished!

That turned out really nice- Your Mai-Kai sign too!

Mike will be proud of that I bet..

H
hewey posted on Wed, Jan 3, 2007 2:33 PM

Awesome man! :)

HK

Thanks, guys! Both projects were really fun. I've got a few more things in the works before I can get to anything that's even vaguely Tiki related, but I'm sure I'll be back with more.

Josh
http://www.whollycatsband.com

K

Hey Josh...
another great job!
can't wait to see this one in person!

K.

J

Hey Josh
The sign came out great! That will look great at JSL. What size is the sign? ...and how do you achieve such magnificent glaze (almost plasticlike)
Can't wait to see you at the JSL soon - constantly enjoy your CD's!!!!
Jon
Jon

HK

Jon - Mahalo! The clearcoat is a 2-part, pour-on epoxy resin called Glaze Coat. It's the same stuff you'd use if you wanted to put shells, pictures, or whatever on your bartop. Although it's a bit pricey, the look is worth it.