Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Events

Tiki events in the midwest?

Pages: 1 10 replies

Hello all!

I'm new here and I'm a recent midwest transplant. I lived in San Diego, Ca all 26 years of my life and I now live in West Lafayette, IN where I'm attending Purdue University to get my PhD!

Shame on me, but I never went to any events and that's pretty bad considering I lived in one of the best spots for events. I'm not anti-social I'm just new to the world and started with Tiki mugs.

Anyways I'm just wondering if there are any events or good sources for mugs around this area. I saw that Chicago has had something called exotica in the past, but I can't find an upcoming version. Also, I know that DVA gallery has tiki themed art shows

I'm new so, if you'd like to say "Hi" I've posted more about me in the appropriate forum :)

Mahalo!

hi lucky, new to TC myself, i live in lafayette,not alot that i've found in town, i hear chicago has some tiki bars and events,but i haven't been to any.i have found cool swag at some car shows ,indy, gas city,fairmount. stickers, a couple vintage mugs, tikis cut out of plate steel,which are really cool.i am also in progress of setting up my tiki bar room,which is finished enough for my enjoyment. really interested in exotica 2007 if they have it,columbus ohio having hot rod hula hop, i think in july. give me a shout back

E

Hi lucky tiki and tiki deluxe. Chicago land has a lot of nice tiki type places to visit.
Hala Kahiki
Chef Shangri-la
Tiki Terrace
the Sand Bar is 50's modern/tiki- ish sort of place with live music on the weekend ( no cover too)
I know I'm forgetting some other places as this was just off the top of my head.I'm sure others can add to my list.
Plus we have a pretty large sized group of tiki folks who like to get together often. Feel free to PM me if you'd like to be in the know about our outings.