Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Outdoor Bar Top Options?

Pages: 1 8 replies

T

I built a nice bar last year and used plywood (3/4" ) which I put a lot of exterior polyurethane on. However, it started to check last year, it is warping and the finish is shot. I am looking for ideas for a new top this year and needed some inspiration or just plain old sage advice. I am a carpenter by trade and don't mind some labor in order to have a durable top. Some ideas that have crossed my mind are concrete (might be too heavy), left-over Mangaris decking (sort of like teak/), or a new plywood top with a different/better finish. Can you help me out? And pics are always appreciated!

Tom

Just a few ideas off the top of my head.. No "sage" experience here..

Is the top of your bar exposed or do you have a canopy of some sort? Teak is always nice.. Naturally oily and resistant, but can get expensive. I've seen alot of tile, as well.. What about that new decking material?

T

It is a tradition "tiki bar" with a thatch roof, but the roof only can do so much. Rain does get on the top and the sun in maryland during the summer is powerful.

Why not try tile?

B
Bincho posted on Sun, Apr 1, 2007 7:19 PM

I am in the trades as well-

I have had good luck using almost anything except ply products- the nature of that material makes them drink water and swell regardless of the top coat.

I have had good success salvaging large Doug Fir planks/ Beams and then sanding them/staining, and them applying MARINE VARNISH -- As this is boat stuff, it has UV protection and good waterproofing qualities.

If you have a job that yield some old petrified joists or something, they would be ideal to sand and stain. I come across so much awesome throw away wood like this it drives me nuts.