Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Sure, it started with a noise complaint...but...

Pages: 1 7 replies

Sure, it may have started with a noise complaint, (within lawful hours) ..but....The City & County of Honolulu sent me a notice of violation for "producing Tikis at home to be sold elsewhere", they say I "can't store materials or supplies outside" and they even want to restrict what I can "store inside".

What If I was a a quiet painter producing works for craft fairs Etc. As long as I don't make noise during unreasonable hours should it matter what kind of art I produce?

Has anyone dealt with this kind of problem that threatened their Freedom of Expression?

G
GMAN posted on Wed, May 16, 2007 3:10 AM

Ouch! Sounds like someone has it out for you. I recommend doing lots of regulatory research and or talking to a friend in the legal business. Things are likely different here, but I doubt they can keep you from storing wood on your property - as long as it isn't a major mess, a code violation, or a hazard. Additionally, I don't think they have any control over what can be in your house (aside from something nutz like farm animals etc.). I'm not a lawer, I write regulations, but lots of my friends are lawyers - and one is in the islands. I'll sniff around a bit, but I recommend you really look into this before it gets out of control. Maybe ask for a copy of the complaint/police report as well. It should indicate who made the complaint and what regs you may have bent. If you can give me the code citations I may be able to access them online and give them a read. Good luck.

Oh, one more thing...You can get shut down for noise at anytime in most places if it exceeds the legal limit on db. However, if anyone cuts grass, uses an edger, or any other power equipment it should fall under the same code they say you are violating.

-Gman

"The saw is family"