Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Palm Wood Experiment

Pages: 1 17 replies

TD

Hello all TCers,

I'm fairly new to the scene and just getting into carving.
I've done a few lil carvings with basswood and cork, and now going to try a big boy!
But first, I wanted to try an experiment...

This weekend I should be getting 2 6ft palm logs, not sure what kind of palm yet, the arborist hasn't informed me yet hehe. (guessing it might be mexican fan palms)
I'm thinking I might cut them into 4 3ft logs and then try out different drying techniques and post them here.
I plan on letting one dry au natural to see how bad it cracks, and the other three well that is where I could use some ideas! :D Different sealents for the ends? bark on or off?

Any Feedback would be appreciated!

Mahalo,
Tiki Den

Welcome to TC!! Id like to see some picsof the pieces you did with basswood and cork..

M
mieko posted on Wed, Jul 11, 2007 9:20 PM

Hey Den! I'm sure some others with more experience than me will chime in, but I'd take one of those 3 foot sections, strip off all the bark, and start carving! It'll be wet, and probably get moldy, you'll want to leave it in the sun to kill the mold, but you can still carve it. :) I waited till mine stopped getting moldy before I stained and sealed it.

Can't wait to see what you come up with!

M

Wet or Dry, palm will be fine to start as soon as it arrives. I live in FL. The humidity accelerates mold as well but, I don't seem to experience it much.

Just skin it and shape it!

Welcome to TC

Looking forward to seeing your efforts!

Mahalo

McTiki

TD

Wow thanks for all the info all!

I think I will try to carve one of the logs right off the bat, and let the others dry in different fasions!
Of course pics will be posted of my progress or disaster! hehe

A few ppl have asked to see some of the corks I've carved so I made a post finally! hehe