Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

My first carvings/practice carvings

Pages: 1 14 replies

T

Ok so i did two tikis, and they were mainly as a practice for staining and getting used to my tools for carving. Both are from Eucalyptus logs that my step dad had laying around his house. so I have plenty more wood to carve. Any help/suggestions would be great. I'm trying something different on this next one im working on. Constructive only please, as I would never attack anyone elses work i do not expect that to happen to me. so here are a few pics, mahalo.

T

Bro, no one here is going to attack you or your work, believe me! I'm new to this myself and have found folks here nothing but encouraging, you will too! You will get more and more confident with your tools, try carving things you've seen others do because it looks cool, and even join in the events and goings on in your area when you can, and will dig it! Browse through the numerous carving posts for ideas, read up on the tips and tricks folks here are using, post questions you have, and you will be more addicted than you expected!

Your 2 brothers are steps in the right direction, and as most folks here will tell you, just keep doin' it! It's all a big learning experience, you stop learning when you're dead! (Keep living)

R
Robin posted on Thu, Aug 2, 2007 9:30 PM

Ditto. I'm new too, and these folks have been nothing but generous, encouraging, helpful and kind. If you wanna learn from some great carvers, this is the place to be! Good luck.

T