Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Eater Island Head Mugs From John Ascuaga

Pages: 1 7 replies

I am new to the tiki mug collecting. I bought two of these the other day. Then I bought two more. When I got them, two had a flat bottom, and two had a sunk in bottom. what is the difference. they were all made by omc japan. they all have the same writing. is the difference in years or what?

T

My understanding is that the concave bottom mugs are of an older vintage. They often say 'Sparks, Nev' on the back instead of Reno.

~ tikigreg

[ Edited by: tikigreg on 2002-05-24 14:13 ]

yea it does say sparks (east reno)nevada. wonder how old they are? thanks

Not sure of the actual dates of manufacture for these mugs but I can tell you they are VERY common! When out thrifting, I find them all the time. From what I understand, to this day you can still acquire these souvenier mugs from The Nugget. They serve a variety of drinks that come with a souvenier mug you can keep. I haven't been there to confirm this but a friend of mine has. I think this is still the case at the Hala Kahiki in Chicago as well.

M

A couple years ago, the Trader Dick's mugs have changed to a style with "Trader Dick's" in raised lettering on the back of the mug. I think they look more like traditional Orchid's of Hawaii mugs(Going from my memory)-they do not look like the Trader Dick's mugs of years gone by. For some drinks you have to pay a few dollars more to get the souvenir mug.

TC

Eater Island? isn't that the new name for Jimmy's Buffet?

:wink:
Tiki Chris

Thanks for pointing out my bad spelling Tiki Chris! Boy I feel Like a dumbass! Well now I got to get back on my medication.

D

i got 2 mugs from TraderDick's in february: one has green faux diamond eyes, the other one, is the flat bottomed Easter Island Head type, with 'trader dicks' embossed into the mug.