Name:Shun Lee
Type:restaurant
Street:43 W 65th Street
City:New York
State:NY
Zip:10023
Phone:212-595-8895

Description:
I debated whether I should post this, because it has no tiki decor, although the decor is beautiful, and the only polynesian influence in the food is some typical Pu-Pu type appetizers. But, because it has the best Mai Tais I've everhad at a commercial establishment in NYC, I thought it deserved mention. The Mai Tais are very similar to Trader Vics, though maybe a slight tad sweeter. I went there because it has a reputation for excellent food and debated on getting the Mai Tai, as I have had some very bad experiences ordering those in restaurants here, but when the waiter described the ingredients, it sounded like Trader Vic's recipe. I was not disappointed.

The service is excellent, and the food is as well, though a bit pricey for chinese food. It is, though, an upscale restaurant and the experience was worth it. They also have a more casual cafe, with lighter and less expensive fare and a bar, if you don't want to pay that much for chinese food.

There is also one on the East side at 55th and 3rd, but I have not been there.

[ Edited by: Urban Tiki 2007-08-16 13:38 ]

Thanks for posting this. I can't find a decent Mai Tai in the city, besides my own. I'll check them out next week...they do have a bar, right?

This is VERY good news. I was also beginning to think that the only decent mai tai in manhattan was being made in my kitchen.

From the location, I think I have heard about this place before, but the descriptions made it sound like a local dive bar with a set of regulars who were not looking for more friends. Good to see there was none of that in the report - I could be thinking of a whole other place.

In any event, if there is a good mai tai there, well, I'm goin' in to check it out like ASAFP. Tomorrow is the weekend....

On 2007-08-16 11:09, tripower wrote: